Free P&P on all UK orders
0 item(s) - £0.00
You have no items in your shopping basket.


A Horseman Riding By

Click image to enlarge view

More Views

  • A Horseman Riding By

A Horseman Riding By BS DVD

Boxed Set

Quick Overview

Interpreted from the classic adaptation of R.F. Delderfield’s novel, Nigel Havers stars as Paul Craddock in this 13-part BBC drama series. First broadcast in 1978, A Horseman Riding By is a story about a young man who buys a Devon estate and shortly becomes a Squire for Shallowford, undertaking the renovation of the manor house and ensuring he treats his farmers in a fair way. Set in the early 20th century, this thrilling saga is directed by Philip Dudley, Paul Ciappesoni and Alan Grint and it’s now available from Acorn DVD with FREE delivery.

Regular Price: £59.99 Special Price: £29.99


More Info

This is the magnificent saga, adapted from the book by R.F. Delderfield, of rural Edwardian England from 1900 to the end of the Great War. Nigel Havers stars as Paul Craddock, invalided out of the army during the Boer War to become Squire of the long neglected Devonshire Estate of Shallowford. A difficult task, he must use all his charm and guile to convince the local inhabitants he is the man for the job as they’re currently unimpressed with his management style. The series charts Craddock's new life in the Valley which is challenging because of the Valley's inhabitants and the harsh consequences of war.

Set in the early 20th century, this 13-part BBC drama series is the creation of directors Philip Dudley, Paul Ciappesoni and Alan Grint, whilst starring phenomenal names such as Glyn Houston, Punella Ransome and Valerie Holloway. The popular show gained a huge following and has been accredited for a fantastic interpretation of this classic novel.

Includes subtitles.

A Horseman Riding By Reviews

“This wonderful story is a great joy to watch and the period is long gone but not forgotten. This DVD would make a fantastic edition to your private library. So sit back and enjoy this story of courage and fortitude that made a country great.” – The Examiner

A Horseman Riding By : Episode Guide

A Horseman Riding By Box Set features the episodes:

1902: Valley for Sale

1902: The Party

1902: An Outbreak of Romance

1905: A Birth and a Death

1905: The Storm

1905: A Hollow Victory

1914: The Last Hot Summer

1914: Call to Arms

1915: Death of a Hero

1916: The Profiteers

1917: The Bad Season

1918: The Service

1919: The Old and the New...

Additional Information

Sub Name Boxed Set
Duration (mins) 672
Certificate 12
No. of Discs 6
Format DVD Region 2 (Europe)
Genre Drama
Author R.F. Delderfield
Video No